Project Description

Unarmed Security Officer/Guard Requirements for the State of Tennessee

Class Time: 4 hrs

Class Cost: $75

Training to become a Tennessee certified unarmed security officer includes an examination covering specific subject materials.

Please arrive 5-10 minutes before class to allow time to complete some necessary paperwork. Online registration and payment are crucial to obtaining a seat for this class.

Requirements for unarmed security guard registration:

Be at least 18

Be a citizen or equivalent

No convictions in the last 5 years (including probation)

Mentally competent

Good moral character

No drug or alcohol use or dependence

No disabilities that would prevent performance of duty

Completion of mandatory training requirements

Submit to fingerprinting for both the TBI and the FBI

State Requirements

Training to become a Tennessee certified armed security officer includes an examination covering specific subject materials. All candidates must complete:


1-Hour Class Segments

Segments will cover:

  • Orientation
  • Legal powers and limitations of a security guard/officer
  • Emergency procedures
  • General duties

Additional Course Disciplines

Zirkops places an emphasis on preparing professionals for this job description and suggests exceeding state minimum standards.


1-Hour Courses Available

The addition of (1) hour in the following course disciplines will help to build a good foundation for those in the security profession.

  • Report writing
  • Verbal de-escalation
  • Use of force
  • Defensive tactics

Continuing education courses are available upon request by contacting the main office or emailing ZIRKOPS.COM for more information on time / place / class minimums and price.


Unarmed Guards/Officers renew registration every two (2) years. No classroom time is required for unarmed renewal. You will renew State registration online every two (2) years.

Training requirements for the use of a baton, Conducted Electrical Weapon (CEW), and chemical spray are taught separately.

Licensing Body: Department of Commerce and Insurance

Law: Chapter 0780-5-2-.24

Unarmed Guards/Officers Renew Registration Every 2 Years