Armed Security Officer/Guard Requirements for the State of Tennessee
Class Time: 16 hrs
Class Cost: $175
Please arrive 5-10 minutes before class to allow time to complete some necessary paperwork. Online registration and payment are crucial to obtaining a seat for this class.
Students need to bring their duty weapon to use during the live fire portion of the class with 50 + rounds of ammunition. Duty belt with holster, magazine pouch and total of three magazines are recommended but not required to complete the course of fire. It is recommended that students wear a hat with bill, closed-toe footwear and comfortable clothes with high neckline.
Zirkops will provide you with hearing and eye protection for use during the range portion of the class.
Requirements for armed security guard registration:
Be at least 21
Be a citizen or equivalent
No convictions in the last 5 years (including probation)
Good moral character
No drug or alcohol use or dependence
No disabilities that would prevent performance of duty
Completion of mandatory training requirements
Submit to fingerprinting for both the TBI and the FBI
Training to become a Tennessee certified armed security officer includes an examination covering specific subject materials. All candidates must complete:
4-HOUR BASIC COURSE
1-Hour Class Segments
Segments will cover:
- Legal powers and limitations of a security guard/officer
- Emergency procedures
- General duties
8-HOUR CLASSROOM COURSE
8 Classroom Hours
Class time will cover:
- Legal limitations on the use of a firearm
- Handling of a firearm
- Safety and maintenance of firearms
4 Hours Marksmanship Training
Marksmanship training includes:
- A shooting test
- Test requires a minimum of 70% score on an approved silhouette target course
- Target course must be approved by the commissioner
Armed Guards/Officers renew registration every two (2) years.
Training requirements for the use of a baton, Conducted Electrical Weapon (CEW), chemical spray, and handcuffing are taught separately.
Licensing Body: Department of Commerce and Insurance
Law: Chapter 0780-5-2-.24