A class designed by women, for women. We all know that women see life differently than men. Not a bad thing…just a different thing. There is also a level of intimidation when learning about guns in a class full of men. Learning about guns can be a little more emotional for the female gender. We have to know our weapon and understand why it does what it does in order to be comfortable enough to conceal carry. Our minds are more concerned with our loved ones possibly being hurt by a gun we have brought into their environment. For a woman..DNA has made you a nurturer and protector, so being comfortable and understanding the gun world, and applying it to our personal life is much more than a little card we carry in our wallet.
ZirkOps handgun permit classes follow industrial standards set by the state of Tennessee to insure quality certifications. The Tennessee state guidelines are as follows:
Safety, Practice and Application
Firearm Cleaning and Storage
Legal Liabilities of Carrying, Possessing and Using a Handgun
Basic Marksmanship Skills
At the completion of this course students will have met or exceeded Tennessee handgun permit standards mandated by the state. Students will be issued the documentation used by the DMV to facilitate the carry permit application.
Students are responsible for the purchase of ammunition for the shooting portion of the test. The state of Tennessee requires that you fire 50 rounds of ammunition during the shooting portion of the exam. You can bring ammo from home or purchase that ammunition from ZirkOps as supplies last and market availability merits. Please arrive 15-20 minutes before class allowing time to complete some necessary paperwork. Online registration and payment are crucial to obtaining a seat for this class.
ZirkOps will provide you with hearing and eye protection for use during the range portion of the handgun permitclass. If you do not currently own a firearm, rental guns are available for a cost of $10 plus the additional cost for ammunition. The types of rental firearms available vary according to demand. During the range portion of the exam students will be required to fire their weapons at a distance of 9 feet, 15 feet and 21 feet. It is highly encouraged and strongly advised that students practice their shooting skills before attending this Tennessee certified class.
Once finished with your certification class, students must visit the local DMV to complete their process. Bring your certificate of completion number to the DMV to register your class with the State of Tennessee. You will need to bring a certified copy of your birth certificate or a U.S. passport for identification. The cost for State application is $103-$152. (It will be aligned with your Driver License expiration date) Remember, state certification must be filed within 6 months of completion of your training class. After 6 months, your certification number will expire with the State of Tennessee and you will be required to complete the class again.
A background check will be required by the State of Tennessee and further details will be provided during your trip to the DMV. Fingerprint instructions will be given to you at the DMV and is included with your state application fee. After completion of fingerprint and background check requirements, please allow 6 to 12 weeks for final processing of your handgun permit. Your license will be delivered via the US Postal Service. It is recommended that students wear a hat with bill, closed toe footwear and comfortable clothes with high neckline.
Class time 8 hrs. Class cost is $65.
***BEFORE ATTENDING CLASS, PLEASE GO ON-LINE AT: https://apps.tn.gov/handgun TO OBTAIN YOUR STATE CONFIRMATION NUMBER. PLEASE BRING THIS NUMBER TO CLASS.***